So I went to see Dr. Karnitis at Kettering Hospital today. It was a routine ultrasound because I’ve been having a lot of pain in my lower back and pelvic area. Like so much so that I cried on Sunday and had to leave an event early. So thankful to say everything looks great. My ovary (or what remains) has several follicles on it, which in and of itself is amazing! My uterus looks great and has a nice thick lining. Basically, Dr. Karnitis says my body is at it’s peak for holding a baby. However, the road to getting there is going to be more difficult than we thought this entire time. So let me give you a little insight as to what has happened. For a while I wanted to stay private and go through this with my husband and family but then that became a lot and I just started not talking about our journey. BUT, I need an outlet and I feel like this is a really good outlet for me.

When Russell and I first met Dr. Karnitis, we were going over my previous surgery notes. Again, he was so shocked that I’d had that much surgery in such a short amount of time. Then he started talking about my AMH levels. I’d never heard of that and I’m assuming you haven’t either. AMH is a hormone that your body, more specifically for a woman it’s in her ovaries. Your AMH level is going to tell a doctor at what percentage you are able to conceive. What I didn’t realize is my AMH level is at a 0.1. This means my reproductive system functions at the level of a woman who is 42 or older. For a woman my age my AMH should be 1.1-3.2. So this means I have less than a 5% chance of conceiving on my own.  This part of the blog is important for what I’m leading into.

Today, I wanted to talk about surgery #5. When it would happen, if it would happen. Dr. Karnitis and I are on different pages with what is best but I am going to go his route first. (He is very insistent that we are doing no more surgery but we may have to resort to that) We have decided to go with pain medication to help me be more comfortable. I can’t tell you all how hard the last few weeks have been. I can’t function. I can barely function at work but have to pretend I can do things because my bosses have been more than understanding throughout this entire process. We have also decided that I am going to do 3 months of Lupron to quiet my system so the inflammation won’t cause as much pain. The down side is the amount of hot flashes but if the medication works then I’ll take hot flashes over unbearable pain any day.  Also, it is his belief that my tube is officially non-functioning. He says with the IUI we attempted last month and the fertility meds we’ve tried I should have been able to conceive but if my tube isn’t working that explains alot. Which means there’s only one way to have a baby…. IVF. If/When we go down this road we have already decided to freeze some embryos that way we know we’ll be able to have more than one child. It won’t be easy and it will be expensive but I won’t give up.

So here’s what I need from my friends and family. I need you to pray, send positive vibes, whatever it is you do to the universe or the deity in which you believe. I need this Lupron shot more than ever and IF insurance does not cover it I will continue to be in pain. By the way EVERYONE needs to write their Senator about this healthcare bill because women like me will loose their insurance because I have several pre-existing conditions. Anyway, if we have to pay out of pocket for Lupron (which would be a 3 month dosage) it would be $4,030.99. Yes, you read that right. Over $4,000…which if I haven’t mentioned I don’t have. So we have some decisions to make. I am hoping my insurance company will pay for this medication, I can be comfortable and we can make a serious plan of action. I know two women who have been in my shoes and I read the blogs and follow other infertile women on social media. They give me hope. They make me cry along with them. I know their struggle. I feel their yearning to become a mother. Just last night I was in so much pain I was crying and telling Russell it isn’t fair that he has a partner who can’t conceive a baby. A partner who is a failure. I feel guilt. I feel lost. He has never waivered when it comes to our journey. He says he wouldn’t choose anyone else to be his wife and that no matter what we have each other.  His reassurance gives me peace of mind and lets me know I just need to take things one day at a time.

Well there’s your endo update! There are  few blogs I didn’t share on social media so if you want to check those out they are down below!!

Until Next Time

xoxoxo

