“Blessed is she who has believed the Lord would fulfill His promises to her.” Luke 1:45

 

I saw this beautiful quote on Waiting for Baby Bird’s facebook page. She recently posted about what it feels like to deal with infertility during the holidays. She reminded us that Christmas is about the birth of Hope. This really resonated with me. If endometriosis has taught me anything this past 10 months it’s that you have to have hope. Hope for what the future holds and hope that your dreams will one day come true. Infertility isn’t easy. Each day is a challenge because a woman never knows what’s going to upset her. It could be passing a specific onesie or holding a friends baby. It could be the simple yearning you feel that day that’s stronger than normal. There are so many things that we are sensitive to that many don’t realize, however, we manage to keep going.

Infertility is hard. Infertility brings more questions than answers and having hope during a difficult time can be calming. Hope is for the dark days that seem like they aren’t going to end. Hope is wanting to find a cure for the 1 in 8 women who have to go through this and experience the pain endometriosis brings. Hope is one day knowing, that with the right timing, a baby will be placed in your arms and one day you’ll be called mommy. Hoping for the family that you have always wanted is normal. My husband and I are trying for a baby and while we only have a 5% chance of conceiving on our own, I’ll take it because it’s not 0. 0 means there is not hope. 5% means there still is hope. This year has created a fire in my soul to fight for what I want, no matter how difficult it is. Infertility is knowing you are going to go through hell and back but come out a better, stronger person. This Christmas I hope you have hope for your future. I know the women struggling to conceive are having a hard time right now. They aren’t able to put a baby in a “My first Christmas” onesie, wait hours in line to meet Santa, or experience what their friends or siblings get to but one day they will. I have hope for them. I know they are strong and can get through anything.

To the 1 in 8 women I know struggle with infertility, you aren’t alone. I know it feels like that but you aren’t. Look forward to beautiful future that lies ahead. Miracles come from hope and hope comes from within. Believe in yourself and your journey and you’ll go where your heart takes you.

Merry Christmas

xoxo

