Uncategorized

Why in such a rush?

First I was dying to finish high school and start college; And then I was dying to finish college and start working. And then I was dying to marry and have children. And then I was dying for my children to grow old enough for school so I could return to work. And then I was dying to retire. And now I am dying … and suddenly I am dying and somehow I forgot to live. — Anonymous

This quote was profound for me. I find myself doing this now. I find myself wanting so badly to be done with college and to graduate so I can obtain that “big girl job” and start a family. But what I often fail to realize is that the down time I get ( even though sometimes it’s very little), I won’t be able to have that once I start a career and have a family. Sometimes I forget that I am learning so much about myself through college; what I want to be and how I want to change the world (or my world), what classes I don’t like, what I’m learning, and how this college experience is teaching me so much about stamina and what it means to push yourself harder and further than you could ever think possible. College goals are hard, they are real, they are raw. For me, I am enjoying the college journey because I know once it’s done I won’t get this opportunity again. For me college is about learning more about how I am going to impact my society and pushing myself harder than I’ve ever imagined to graduate with honors.

This quote was also profound for me because I have been in a relationship for seven years. I have been asked a countless number of times throughout my relationship when I would be getting married. For the longest time I had wondered how long it would take for me to take that next step in life. However, after year four I gave up on the notion that I could possibly get engaged at any moment. It’s not that I didn’t want to get engaged but I wanted to truly enjoy my relationship and not worry about that status symbol and that being engaged and getting married meant that my last name would change and I’d sign a piece of paper saying that my status would change. I have learned great lessons over the last seven years.

1.You will start to take for granted the person you are with if you don’t live in the moment and appreciate them for the stage your relationship is in.

2.You will miss growing with the person you are with if you are more caught up in getting engaged/married.

3.You may take for granted the awesome person you are doing life with by being caught up in a status symbol.

My engagement was a complete and total surprise. I was caught off guard and 2,000 feet in the air. Over the last three years, I have learned that each person’s relationship is going to go at it’s own pace. Just because the tortoise beats the hare doesn’t mean it’s always what it seems.

Take the time to smell the roses because tomorrow is never promised.

Until next time

xoxo

Leave a Reply

