I recently read a quote that reads:

” Do your thing. Do it unapologetically. Don’t be discouraged by criticism. You probably already what they’re going to say. Pay no mind to the fear of failure. It’s far more valuable than success. Take ownership, take chances, and have fun. And no matter what, don’t ever stop doing your thing.” –Asher Roth

This was very powerful for me. I see so many people making decisions based on what their parent’s, spouses, and friends think they should do. Do you know what my life would be like if I didn’t have a chance to make my own choices, follow my own path? Growing up my parents taught me brother and sister and I that we need to follow whatever dream we had. I could have said I wanted to be the head of NASA or a Ballerina and they would have been supportive. This quote made me think of the cultures where they focus more on the group, not the individual. I think of the people who take jobs because their families own a business and they feel obligated to work for the business, instead of doing what they are passionate about.

I wish we lived in a world where it was okay to express what you truly want. Instead we are afraid of being judged. We are afraid of what others will think and the negativity associated with our decisions. For example, when I decided to start my pageant journey I wasn’t sure how the people in my life would react. I didn’t know if they would be supportive or if they would brush it aside and think I am crazy. (Deep down I think they all knew I was meant to be on stage lol) The first person I asked was Russell because he is my partner in life and I value his opinion more than most. Of course he said I could do whatever I wanted to do. Well after I “failed” to place in the top 10 at Miss Ohio Latina I didn’t compete for a while, 8 months almost. What I didn’t realize was that failure put things into perspective for me. The judges at Miss Ohio Latina weren’t saying I wasn’t good enough, they were just saying they a different idea of the girl they wanted to represent Ohio. It took a lot of time and reflection for me to realize that I had what it takes, my crown was out there somewhere. After April I really felt like I could do whatever I wanted. If I set my mind to it I could accomplish it. I set my mind on winning a crown, and little did I know it would come a few short months later. I took a chance on myself, something I think we all forget to do. If we take a chance and give it all we’ve got, even if we fail at what we are trying to accomplish, we can say we did it, instead of I wish I would have. We need to take more time to reflect on what is lacking in our lives. They say your goals aren’t big enough if they don’t scare us. I have learned to not stop doing my thing because doing what I love is shaping the woman I am becoming. Be fearless. Be brave. Find the success within the fear of failure.

Until next time,

xoxo

