Uncategorized

Our engagement story <3

What a year its been! I’ve competed in two pageants, interned all summer, gone to school to finish my degree and held my part time job. Being busy would be an understatement. Not to mention my (then) boyfriend and I celebrated our 7th anniversary in July!

September 14, 2015 is the day my life changed for the better! Russell had planned for us to go on a hot air balloon ride for our anniversary but the weather was not ideal and we couldn’t go. (We almost beat The Gentle Breeze’s reschedule record with 8 reschedules!) So basically we waited two months for this hot air balloon ride. I was so nervous and excited and anxious but more on that in a minute. The weather was perfect. It was about 75 but the wind was picking up a bit. Anyone who doesn’t know there is a checklist of things that the hot air balloon company must follow in order to keep everyone safe. When we arrived, Lori, the lady in charge, knew that Russell was going to propose. With the wind we had to wait an extra 15 minutes before lifting off but while we were waiting we got to help set up the balloon and go over which direction we may be going. Once we were in the air, I must admit that I was terrified. We were close to 3500 feet in the air (and for someone afraid of heights this was big deal). I didn’t want to move in the basket because I was so scared and at one point my hand touched the ring box. After I became more comfortable I moved to the other side of the basket and Russell and I were talking. The pilot was descending when he saw Russell get down on one knee. He immediately put the burners back on and got us a little higher in the air. Keep in mind my back was turned toward Russell so I didn’t know what was going on. The pilot then says “the view in over here is really pretty” so I turn around and start crying. I have been waiting and imagining for years how he would propose. Never did I think it was going to be in a hot air balloon. It was a perfectly magical moment. The entire night I literally just thought we were having a fun date night because we are so busy we don’t always get the chance to go out. When we landed we were cheered for by the people in the other balloon and we met back at the hanger and had a champagne toast. The proposal could not have been more perfect. I am so excited to be wedding planning, especially since our dreams of getting married in Hawaii are going to come true!

Until next time! XOXO 12000828_10154093315498912_4609516393574615715_o 12006097_10154091882873912_5373268898646464261_n

Leave a Reply

