Fat shaming. Skinny shaming. Making a negative comment in some way shape of form about someone else’s body is body shaming.

I have my own issues with body shaming. I am naturally thin, enjoy working out and taking good care of myself. I enjoy posting pictures of my workout journey because I’m proud of the body I have. I have goals and I also realize I have a long way to go in my fitness journey. But I also realize there are going to be people who don’t like seeing what I have to post. They don’t want to see the results I am getting from the work I am putting in, at home and at the studio that I workout at. I realize there are going to be people who are going to have a negative comment about the way I look or the way others look.

Take for example, Rebel Wilson at the 2015 MTV movie awards. She wore leather leggings that said “think” on the back with a pair of white angel wings. She says she did it to help girls be comfortable in their own skin. But is that really why she did it? She was making fun of Victoria’s Secret super models and their being thin. I thought the effort she made was good but the message was saying it’s not okay to be thin.

On the other hand you have people fat shaming others. Something more recent is when Kelly Clarkson was fat-shamed on The Mike Gallagher show. She has had a baby in the last year and just because she doesn’t look the way some think she should, gives them the right to judge her for the way she looks.

So why do we fat/skinny shame others?  Why do we feel like we should have the right to comment on how someone else looks? I think some do it because they don’t like the way others look. I think some do it because they aren’t happy with themselves and they don’t want anyone to feel good about they way they look. I really feel like some people shame others because they don’t want anyone to look better than they do.

How do we stop this? We stop body shaming by keeping our comments to ourselves. We stop body shaming by encouraging others to complete their fitness goals. We lift each other up, every day, instead of trying to bring them down. Bringing others down is not going to solve anything. Bringing others down is only going to make us feel worse about ourselves.

I can tell you from personal experience, that body shaming hurts. It also fuels me to be better than I was yesterday. Just last week I had a lady ask me if I eat cheeseburgers. Let’s be honest, I love a good cheeseburger, as much as, the next person. I just choose when to eat them and how often. As I turned to attend to another table she looked at her husband and said, “I hate to be that thin.” Yes, I understand I am almost 26 and have a thin frame. So thin in fact, that I still wear junior’s clothing. But what that lady didn’t know is that I have gained 9 pounds and have never felt better about myself. Sure I have my insecurities just like every other girl but I don’t need anyone to tell me how I should look.

If we stopped body shaming maybe women would be more supportive of each other. Maybe if we had nicer things to say, the world would be a better place to live in. If we stop body shaming, we may be able to see the best sides of ourselves and others.

Until next time.

xoxo

