Uncategorized

Fifty Shades of Grey

Holy 50 shades! This movie was more and less than I thought it was going to be. First, I loved Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan in these roles. I really liked that we got to see two “unknowns” in such big roles. I thought they both did a great job and can’t wait to see them in the future movies. I had so many favorite scenes but one that I laughed at was when Anna goes to Georgia to see her mother. They are having cosmos and Christian sends Anna a text that reads, “ANOTHER cosmo”. She says, “holy fuck” and he shows up. I also really liked when they were in the glider. That scene looked like so much fun. (I mean I don’t think I could ever do something that adventurous but it looked like fun). I will say, I did think we would see more of his family during this movie just because they played such a big role in the first book. So I’m hoping we see more of them in the future movies. I thought the movie was on point and now I can’t wait to see 50 shades darker.

Now I have to talk about the Red Room of Pain. When this room is described in the book you get a very clear image of what this room looks like. This movie went above and beyond all expectation I had for what this room would look like. I thought everything was perfect, the flogs, whips, handcuffs, the suspension from the ceiling, the bed, all of it. I was highly impressed but I was surprised there weren’t more scenes in the red room of pain.

I also watched the unrated version of the movie. I didn’t see anything that was worthy of the unrated rating. I was hoping it would get as steamy as the book and get an NC-17 rating but it didn’t, which is fine, but for a movie like this it should push the envelope (in my opinion). I understand there is a lot of nudity and talk of being dominant/submissive, which is something that a lot of people don’t have a lot of information about. I also didn’t see why people got so upset and said Anna was being sexually abused. She consented to everything they did. If he asked her she said yes, even if it wasn’t what she thought was going to happen. If Anna had been forced to do things she didn’t want to do or was saying no and he did it anyway, that is sexually abuse. This is just Anna experiencing what being a dominant/submissive is and what roles they play in their sexual relationships.

Until next time!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

